MLT or MT – Texas County Memorial Hospital – Texas


Under the general supervision of the Laboratory Supervisor or another Medical Technologist, the Medical Technician obtains and receives laboratory specimens, and competently performs clinical testing in the areas of hematology, immunology, microbiology, clinical microscopy, chemistry, and blood bank. He/she interprets results as to accuracy, acceptability and critical limits and uses quality control materials according to established procedures with appropriate documentation. In the absence of the supervisor, serves as a resource person for the technicians. Assists with investigating new procedures and instrumentation, performs quality assurance studies, and ordering of supplies as well as performing other duties as requested and assigned.

Associate / Bachelor’s degree in Biological science, military training or documented equivalent.

None required. Experience working independently and unsupervised in a laboratory setting preferred.

Licensure, Registration, Certification:
Certification as Laboratory Technician by accrediting agency (ASCP, ISCLT, AMT, HHS or NCA).

Mental/Physical Requirements:
(may be met with or without reasonable accommodations): Close mental and visual attention required for sustained periods of time. Frequently works under stressful conditions due to time constraints and critical condition of some patients. 90% of time spent transporting self throughout department and hospital or working at a lab workstation. Standing, walking, sitting, lifting, turning, carrying, pushing, pulling, stooping, crouching, twisting, and reaching are required. Must be able to lift 20 lbs. from the floor and overhead, and 40 lbs. from waist height. Must exercise good body mechanics in execution of essential duties, including appropriate back and neck posture.

Working Conditions:
Constant exposure to hazardous and infectious material. Works in air-conditioned environment with moderate noise level. May be required to work any time of day or night.

Age-Specific Competencies:
Persons generally grow and develop in stages that are related to their age. Age specific competence means that the employee is aware of physical, psychosocial and/or learning needs of patients of different ages. Employees consider these needs when planning and providing care for the patient or when interacting with the patient or family.
Human development can be divided into eight stages. In each stage the individual has a primary task to accomplish or master. Each task is important throughout the life span but is most critical at a particular stage.

  • Infant (0-1 year): The infant must learn to trust that his/her needs will be met.
  • Toddler (1-3 years): The toddler must learn to develop a sense of himself as an independent person and gain self-confidence and self-control.
  • Pre-school child (3-6 years): The pre-school child must develop a sense if initiating (being able to explore the world and start projects).
  • School age child (6-12 years): The school age child must develop a sense to his/her own self-worth through accomplishments and interaction with others.
  • Adolescent (13-20 years): the adolescent must develop his/her own identity.
  • Young adult (21-43 years): The young adult must develop close relationships.
  • Middle adult (44-65 years): The middle adult must develop a sense of community and assume responsibility for others.
  • Older adult (65 years and older): The older adult must come to understand the meaning of his/her life in terms of what has been accomplished.

Texas County Memorial Hospital is a tobacco-free smoke-free facility.

Click Here To Apply

%d bloggers like this: