EMT-B – Texas County Memorial Hospital – Texas

Emergency Medical Services
Full-time Status
24 Hour Shifts
FLSA: Non-Exempt

Under the general supervision of the Director of Emergency Medical Services, and the direct supervision of the Paramedic and the respective charge nurse, the EMT is responsible for providing Basic Life Support for patients both emergency and routine transport, with similar capacity in the ED. Responsible for checking the ambulances for supplies and vehicle inspection, documenting accurately on the MARF report and patient’s ED charts.

High School Diploma or GED. Graduate of EMT course.

One year preferred but not required.

Licensure, Registration, Certification:
Current Missouri licensure as EMT-B and Class E Missouri Driver’s license (with a clean driving record.) Candidate must have current BTLS.

Mental/Physical Requirements:
(May be met with or without reasonable accommodations): Considerable mental concentration required. Standing, walking, sitting, lifting, turning carrying, pushing, pulling, stooping, crouching, twisting, and reaching are required. Must be able to lift 20 lbs. from floor and from overhead, 40 lbs. from waist height and be able to handle, move or transfer articles of 100 lbs. regularly and over 100 lbs. periodically; in concert with other employee(s)/person(s) and/or lifting device; exercise good body mechanics in execution of essential duties, including appropriate back and neck posture.

Working Conditions:
Frequent exposure to communicable disease via blood and body fluids. Frequent exposure to infectious diseases, radiation, anti-neoplastic agents, and hostile persons at times. Works with sharps and other potentially biohazardous material.

Age-Specific Competencies:
Persons generally grow and develop in stages that are related to their age. Age specific competence means that the employee is aware of physical, psychosocial and/or learning needs of patients of different ages. Employees consider these needs when planning and providing care for the patient or when interacting with the patient or family
Human development can be divided into eight stages. In each stage the individual has a primary task to accomplish or master. Each task is important throughout the life span but is most critical at a particular stage.

  • Infant (0-1 year): The infant must learn to trust that his/her needs will be met.
  • Toddler (1-3 years): The toddler must learn to develop a sense of himself as an independent person and gain self-confidence and self-control.
  • Pre-school child (3-6 years): The pre-school child must develop a sense if initiating (being able to explore the world and start projects).
  • School age child (6-12 years): The school age child must develop a sense to his/her own self-worth through accomplishments and interaction with others.
  • Adolescent (13-20 years): the adolescent must develop his/her own identity.
  • Young adult (21-43 years): The young adult must develop close relationships.
  • Middle adult (44-65 years): The middle adult must develop a sense of community and assume responsibility for others.
  • Older adult (65 years and older): The older adult must come to understand the meaning of his/her life in terms of what has been accomplished.

Texas County Memorial Hospital is a tobacco-free smoke-free facility.

Source: Indeed.com
Click Here To Apply

%d bloggers like this: